New Years Resolution: Improve Photography

So, I am trying to learn how to take better photographs.

I’ve always been interested in photography, in fact, when I was younger, I hoarded all my money for years so that I could buy a good camera, (the same camera I use today in fact) so that I could learn the tricks of the trade. However, it has taken me over nine years to really understand that photography is more than just pointing and clicking.

For me, learning something new is both exciting and extremely frustrating. I am guilty of giving up new hobbies or skills just because i’m not automatically fantastic at it, but there isn’t much point in being able to sort of play 5 instruments instead of being good at 1 (I reached a new point when I tried to learn the accordion.) Like a magpie I have gathered an array of half hobbies over the years, from gardening to rock polishing, and knitting to learning to play the trumpet.

Like many others, at New Year I try to gather all the things I would like to change about myself (lose weight, get a job, become more assertive, learn a language. The list goes on and on) and make it a goal to completely change myself at the stroke of midnight. Alas, this year is no different, and once again, on the final week of 2015 I  began to compile the list of traits I would like to change, or the ones I would like to have and wish that the power of hope would magic me into another person, fairy god mother style. However, given the lack of  success in the previous 21 years, I have decided to stick with one: improve a skill. And that skill….photography.

I started this blog with the hopes of doing just that, and while I can’t see any progress yet, I will continue to try as I have certainly enjoyed it so far. I got a subscription to Adobe Photoshop for my Birthday/Christmas and I hope that I can learn to shoot and edit my pictures with more skill than I have previously.

These pictures were taken on the beach of my hometown Broughty Ferry, on possibly the only sunny day of the entire three weeks I was there. The editing is a little bit funny in parts, but I’m still trying to learn! Hope you all have a great New Year and that your lists are a little bit shorter!

broughtycastlebrdr.jpg

stairswater.jpg

gbeach.jpgswansunset copy.jpg

Leave a Reply

